Weekly News 2017

McGrath Oil West U21B Football Championship Group 2 -  Sunday 5th February 2017
Cappawhite Gaels 1-11(14)
Aherlow Gaels 3-5(14)

Cappawhite Gaels and Aherlow Gaels shared the spoils when the sides met in Group 2 of the McGrath Oil West U21B Football championship in Cappawhite on Sunday last. It was a good game of football with some very good patches of play from both sides.

Cappawhite Gaels were first to score with a point from Tommy Coughlan. Aherlow Gaels replied almost immediately with a point of their own and then followed it up with the games 1st goal from Kevin Franks after some poor defending. Some wayward shooting from both sides was followed up by good scores from Cappawhite Gaels Eoghan and Paul Ryan. Robbie Quirke had a great goal chance that was well saved by Sean Landers before Aherlow Gaels struck for their 2nd goal through Liam Carroll, again after some poor Cappawhite Gaels play. James Dee point for Cappawhite Gaels but this was cancelled out at the other end. The half time whistle sounded Aherlow Gaels ahead 2-2 to 0-4.

Cappawhite Gaels started the second half on the offensive but could only add another James Dee point from play. Aherlow Gaels were been dealt a heavy blow with the loss of full forward Shane Ryan through injury. They seemed to have weathered the storm and scored a third goal from the boot of Mark O’Dwyer followed by a point to lead 3-3 to 0-5 with 17 mins to play. 
The third goal seemed to spark Cappawhite Gaels into life again and they went on a run that would see them score 1-6 without reply. The goal coming from Kieran Duggan after some good work from Alan O'Dwyer and Tim Meagher. Points were scored by James Dee(2), Alan O'Dywer (2 frees), Tommy Coughlan and Eoghan Ryan. 
Aherlow Gaels came on the offensive in final six mins looking to get back into the game. They gave what they had and in doing so drew a couple of close in frees to draw level at the finish. The handful of spectators left with both sides content with the draw.

Cappawhite Gaels: Sean Ralph, Alan Spillane, Robbie Quirke, Cian Ryan, Jim O'Dwyer, Eoghan Ryan(0-2), Eanna Buckley, Shane Ryan, Kieran Duggan(1-0), Tommy Coughlan(0-2),Paul Ryan(0-1), James Dee(0-4), Chris Irwin, Rian Doody, Alan O'Dwyer(0-2 frees).

Subs: Tim Meagher for Rian Doody, Dean Kelly for Sean Ralph, Fionn Brady for Chris Irwin. Cian Murray and Cian Moloney.

Lattin/Cullen Gaels: Sean landers, James Cunningham, Stephen Moloney, San Dillon, Danny Cunningham, Anthony Leahy (0-1), Joe Bradshaw (0-1), Mikie O’Halloran, Paddy O’Donoghue (0-1), James Doherty, Kevin Franks (1-1), Tony Byrnes, Liam Carroll (1-0), Shane Ryan, Mark O’Dwyer (1-0)

Referee: Michael Duffy (Arravale Rovers)