2016 Weekly News

week ending 17 July 2016 

West Minor A Hurling Championship

Cappawhite Gaels got their West Minor A hurling championship off to a flying start with a 4.14 to  1.09 win over Lattin Gaels in Lattin on Wednesday 13 July. Cappa Gaels led at half time by 3.06 to 0.05 with the goals coming from Aaron Ryan, William Barry and Rian Doody. The second half was much closer but Cappawhite maintained their dominance with the final goal coming from Tim Meagher.

Team and Scorers: Fionn Brady, Philip Gantley, Ryan Renehan, Cian Ryan, Denis O' Shea, Brendan Murphy, Alan O' Dwyer, Eoghan Ryan, James Dee, Rian Doody (1.02), Thomas Coughlan, Christopher Irwin, Aaron Ryan (1.04), Tim Meagher (1.01), William Barry (1.07). Subs used: David Murphy. Subs: Colm O'Dwyer, Seamus Burns, Cian Murray, Diarmuid Duggan, Ciaran Doody, Darragh McCarthy. 

O’Donoghue Cup Football ¼ Final:  Cappawhite 1-05 Rockwell Rovers 4-18

This match was played in Cappawhite on Tuesday 12 July. Rockwell were first on the board with a point within the first minute and added 2 more in quick succession. Donagh Heffernan scored a good reply for Cappawhite but Rockwell Rovers took over for the next 20 minutes and Cappawhite couldn't get out of their half as Rockwell scored 2-10 without reply. Kevin Mullins & Ciaran Ryan scored the final 2 points of the half as Rockwell went in 2-13 to 0-3 ahead. 
The 2nd half was more even as Cappa played better and Rockwell eased off the pedal. Rockwell scores another 1-05 while Cappa scored 1-2. Ciaran Ryan with Cappa's goal while Donagh Heffernan & Joe Ryan added the points. Rockwell showed their class in this game and were ably led by County Senior footballers Alan Moloney & TJ Ryan. Cappa had good performance from Declan Costello in goal who kept Rockwell out on 3 or 4 occasions from point blank range. Ciaran Ryan, Donagh Heffernan & Jim Carr also tried hard. 

Team & Scorers: Declan Costello, Noel Ryan, Cathal McCarthy, Michael Ryan(W), Ciaran Ryan(P) (1-1), John McGrath, Ger Ryan(P), Donagh Heffernan(0-2), Tom Treacy, Kevin Stapleton, Jim Carr, Paul Fitzgerald, Sean Ryan(W), Kevin Mullins(0-1) Cian Marnane.

Subs Joe Ryan(P)(0-1) for Tom Treacy, Michael O'Neill for Ger Ryan(P), Eanna Heffernan for Michael Ryan(P), Adrian Carmody for Cian Marnane & Jerry O'Neill for Kevin Stapleton

 Week ending 10 July 2016 

Berties Bar Crosco Cup Final

Cappawhite 1-17(20) Golden/Kilfeacle 0-15(15)

Cappawhite are Crosco Cup Champions for 2016 following victory over Golden/Kilfeacle in the final on Saturday last in Dundrum.

Jerry O’Neill opening the scoring for Cappawhite but this was immediately cancelled by Seanie O’Halloran at the other end. Cappawhite eventually got into a rhythm and opened up a three point lead with points from Jerry O’Neill (65), Kevin Stapleton and Timmy Cranley with just over ten minutes gone in the game. Shane O’Connell brought the gap back to two points but Cappawhite then took control of the scoreboard. Four points from Jerry O’Neill (2 from play + 2 from frees) and another from Tom Treacy saw Cappawhite seven points up as the half entered its last ten minutes. Daithi Ivers got Golden/Kilfeacle’s first score in ten minutes when he hit two points in quick succession. Jerry O’Neill added another point from a free and Timmy Cranley one from play as Cappawhite went in at the break 0-11 to 0-4 ahead.

Golden/Kilfeacle reduced the deficit at the start of the half with points from Seanie O’Halloran and James O’Connell but Jerry O’Neill settled Cappawhite with a pointed free. Seanie O’Halloran responded with two points before Cappawhite struck a killer blow with a goal from Donagh Heffernan with ten minutes of the second half gone. Ciaran Ryan P and Shane O’Connell (65) swapped points before Donnagh Heffernan put six between the sides with his first point of the game and then Jerry O’Neill made it seven moments later. Seanie O’Halloran responded with two points for Golden/Kilfeacle but further points from Ciaran Ryan P and John McGrath saw Cappawhite further extend their lead. Shane O’Connell and Seanie O’Halloran from placed balls had the final say on the scoreboard but Golden/Kilfeacle just could cut the gap below five points. Cappawhite champions in the end on a score line of 1-17 to 0-15.

Cappawhite: Michael R.Buckley, Michael O’Neill, Tom Costello, Davy Stapleton, Cathal McCarthy, Sean Ryan (W), Ger Ryan (P), John McGrath (0-1), Tom Treacy (0-1), Kevin Stapleton (0-1), Dessie Ryan, Ciaran Ryan (P) (0-2), Ger O’Neill (0-9,7f), Donagh Heffernan (1-1), Timmy Cranley (0-2).
Sub used: Noel Ryan.

Golden Kilfeakle; Declan Donnelly, Ronan Hayes, Keith Landy, Paul Fogarty,Cian O’Connell, Shane O’Connell (0-3f), David Wade, Daithi Bargary, James O’Connell (0-1), Seanie O’Halloren (0-9,4f), Jonathan Wade, Aidan O’Connell, Niall Fogarty, Daithi Ivers (0-2f), John Colohan.
Subs used: Matthew Ryan, Christopher Ryan.

West Junior A Football championship - Cappawhite V Kickhams June 29th in Dundrum

On  a perfect evening for Football Cappawhite & Kickhams played a very good game with Cappawhite holding on to win by 2 at the final whistle.
Cappawhite were first to score with a good Tom Treacy Point after good work from Michael O’Neill. Kickhams responded immediately and had the ball in the net after a rasping shot left Thomas Costello no chance in the goal. Cappawhite aided by the breeze now took over and scored the next 4 points on the trot. Two Kevin Mullins frees either side of points from Jim Carr & Kevin Stapleton had Cappa up by 2 after 7 minutes. Kickhams came more into it and kicked 2 points which were answered by 2 more Kevin Mullins frees. Jim Carr then had the score of the game as he collected a ball on the sideline under the stand and kicked a super score over the black spot. Michael O’Neill & Ciaran Ryan(P) finished the 1st half scoring as Cappa went to the dressing room 0-10 to 1-3 ahead.

Kickhams started the 2nd half brightly and reduced the deficit to 2 points after 5 minutes but the Cappa defence held out and Eoghan Ryan fisted a point before Donagh Heffernan to put Cappa 4 up again. Jerry O’Neill, Tommy Coughlan & Jim Carr rounded out Cappa’s scoring. Kickhams scored 4 more but could never get below the 2 point deficit and Cappa held onto win by 15pts to 1-10. Cappa now top the group with 2 wins with the winner of Sean Treacys & Kickhams joining them in the semi-finals.

Team: Thomas Costello Ger Ryan(P), John McGrath, Michael Ryan(W) Timmy Cranley, Ciaran Ryan(P) 0-1, Noel Ryan, Donagh Heffernan 0-1, Eoghan Ryan 0-1, Kevin Stapleton 0-1, Kevin Mullins 0-4, Tom Treacy 0-1, Jim Carr 0-3, Sean Ryan(W), Michael O’Neill 0-1

Subs played: Denis Kelly for Timmy Cranley, Jerry O’Neill 0-1 for Sean Ryan(W), Tommy Coughlan 0-1 for Kevin Stapleton, Paul Fitzgerald for Michael O’Neill.
Subpages (1): April